What is Interreg?

Interreg is one of the key instruments of the European Union (EU) supporting cooperation across borders through project funding. Its aim is to jointly tackle common challenges and find shared solutions in fields such as, environment, sustainable energy, research and more.


Interreg is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and has three types of programmes:

Cross-border cooperation programme

Cross-border cooperation programmes focus on the cooperation in regions located on either side of a EU border.

Transnational cooperation programmes

Transnational cooperation programmes aim to promote better cooperation and regional development within the Union by a joint approach to tackle common issues. They support a wide range of project investment related to innovation, environment, accessibility, telecommunications, urban development etc. There are 15 Interreg transnational programmes, among which the Interreg Alpine Space.

Interregional programmes

Interregional programmes focus on the exchange of experience between local and regional actors across Europe with the aim of reducing disparities between regions.

More about Interreg

Please visit: Interreg – The portal to all Interreg programmes or have a look at the KEEP.EU database, where you can find information about all the Interreg projects, partner organisations and programmes: Territorial Cooperation projects, partners and programmes with European Union countries (keep.eu)