Cooperation area

The Alpine Space Programme cooperation area comprises the Alpine core area in the geographical sense, the surrounding foothills and lowlands of the "peri-Alpine belt", a small part of the Mediterranean coastal area including the Adriatic and parts of the great river valleys of Danube, Po, Adige, Rhône and Rhine.

The Alpine Space is one of the most diverse regions at the heart of the European Union. It represents an attractive working and living space for 70 million inhabitants, covering a surface of 390.000 km² and comprising some of the most important European metropolitan areas. It is also a major contact zone, where different European cultures and languages (German, Latin and Slavic) meet.

Participating countries

and eligible regions according to the NUTS II classification:


(whole country)

Alsace, Franche-Comté, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Rhône-Alpes

districts of Oberbayern and Schwaben (in Bavaria), Tübingen and Freiburg (in Baden-Württemberg)

Friuli Venezia Giulia, Liguria, Lombardia, Piemonte, Provincia Autonoma di Bolzano/Bozen, Provincia Autonoma di Trento, Valle d'Aosta, Veneto

(whole country)

(whole country)

(whole country)